Tee
Craic'er
My Motorhome:
Base Vehicle:
Subject:

Leaking roof

· 
Posted: 01.11.2019  ·  #1
Hello all, this is my first time posting here, so I hope I’m on the correct forum.
I bought a 1995 Swift Royale motorhome earlier this year. I was told by the previous owner that there had been a leak at the edge of the roof where it joins the wall, but that the leak had been fixed. Shortly after purchase, I discovered the roof was soaking and I’ve spent months and a lot of money trying to fix it. I’ve taken out the roof light, fan etc, cleaned them and replaced them using new mastic. Long story short, the roof is still leaking very badly. After last nights rain, I climbed up on a ladder to have a look at it again and the roof is dipped downwards in the middle. It’s gathering around the skylight and despite it being recently re-sealed, the water is coming into the motorhome, in multiple areas. I’m thinking that if the roof has been leaking for a long period of time, the wood is rotten and that’s why the roof has dipped. I’ve spent months refurbishing, redecorating, replacing seating, upholstery etc and I’m loathe to take the ceiling off if I can possibly avoid it. I’ve asked two local caravan repair guys to look at it, but they both have other work on. Any help, suggestions or guidance would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance, Tee

Ally
Founder
Homepage: motorhomecraic.com
My Motorhome: Lunar Roadstar 780
Base Vehicle: Fiat 2.8 JTD
Subject:

Re: Leaking roof

· 
Posted: 01.11.2019  ·  #2
First things first, get it up on some ramps at the front and let the water run off the back. It may be that the roof is low due to water damage and it is getting too high for the skylight to cope, if it goes to far up the edges it will come in no matter how good the seal is.

Liked by: Tee

Tee
Craic'er
My Motorhome:
Base Vehicle:
Subject:

· 
Posted: 01.11.2019  ·  #3