Breathalyzer test kit

 
 
 
 
 
 
Newbie
Avatar
Gender: n/a
Age: 44
Posts: 12
Registered: 12 / 2018
Subject:

Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 21.08.2019  ·  #1
Going to France on Friday. Have only just been told we need a breathalyzer kit. So question is where to get them, and any recommendations. Tia


Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender:
Location: kildare
Posts: 4337
Registered: 10 / 2011
My Motorhome: Dethleffs Advantage
Base Vehicle: Fiat 2.3
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 21.08.2019  ·  #2
You don't need the kit unless you want to get one for your own use, so no worries enjoy your holiday


Newbie
Avatar
Gender: n/a
Age: 44
Posts: 12
Registered: 12 / 2018
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 21.08.2019  ·  #3
Was told it is a legal requirement,


Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender:
Location: Co. Down
Age: 65
Posts: 1184
Registered: 09 / 2011
My Motorhome: Hymer B598 PL
Base Vehicle: Fiat 130 hp multijet
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 21.08.2019  ·  #4
Even if you decided to get one, be aware that the acceptable levels of alcohol are different in different countries. You will see them for sale on the ferries, but the prices are robbery.

https://www.drive-france.com/faqs/france-breathalyzer-law/

Davy


Eat's Sleep's craic
Avatar
Gender:
Location: Wexford
Age: 53
Posts: 2099
Registered: 02 / 2017
My Motorhome: Mobilvetta
Base Vehicle: Ducati 2.8jtd
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 21.08.2019  ·  #5
They are a legal requirement, but there are no penalties for not having it. For France you are meant to have two. Halfords to a twin pack that are acceptable for under a tenner. If you want to feel secure, it won’t break the bank. They normall last for two seasons, look at the best before date. Enjoy the trip


Eat's Sleep's craic
Avatar
Gender:
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 637
Registered: 08 / 2012
My Motorhome:
Base Vehicle:
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 21.08.2019  ·  #6
Have you the rest of the legal requirements ? Yellow vests, bulb kit, beam deflectors,warning triangle, and for your own comfort around 30 mtrs of EHU lead an a 2 pin euro adaptor

https://www.theaa.com/european…-do-i-need


JJF
Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender: n/a
Location: Donegal
Age: 52
Homepage: MotorhomeCraic.com
Posts: 2980
Registered: 10 / 2014
My Motorhome:
Base Vehicle:
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 21.08.2019  ·  #7
You can get them on the ferry or any major supermarket in France, but as stated...... you no longer need to have them on-board.
Enjoy the trip and keep us updated on your progress.


Love's the Craic
Avatar
Gender: n/a
Age: 44
Posts: 166
Registered: 06 / 2018
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 21.08.2019  ·  #8
Halfords have them


Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender:
Location: Killinchy, Co. Down
Age: 53
Posts: 913
Registered: 02 / 2016
My Motorhome: Roller team 707
Base Vehicle: 2016 Ducato
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 21.08.2019  ·  #9
Don’t waste your money.


Newbie
Avatar
Gender: n/a
Age: 44
Posts: 12
Registered: 12 / 2018
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 21.08.2019  ·  #10
Thanks for the replies, have all my other bits and bobs for the trip, and was very surprised when I was told about needing the kit, as I hadn't come across it when doing my homework.

If you can't be good, be good at it.


R&N
Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender: n/a
Location: Dublin
Age: 67
Posts: 648
Registered: 02 / 2016
My Motorhome: Burstner Lyseo 700 TD Auto
Base Vehicle: Fiat Ducato
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 22.08.2019  ·  #11
Don’t forget on ferry in cabin you need adaptor for French plug socket if you want to charge up phones etc.


Craic'er
Avatar
Gender:
Location: Cork
Age: 77
Posts: 83
Registered: 07 / 2013
My Motorhome:
Base Vehicle:
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 22.08.2019  ·  #12
If you use your phone on the ferry you could be open to exorbitant charges as it is regarded as outside the EU. Have a good trip.


Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender:
Location: Co Wicklow
Age: 88
Posts: 3528
Registered: 01 / 2015
My Motorhome: Matilda.
Base Vehicle: Rust 02-Sprinter German engineered from recycled 1960 Fiats
Subject:

Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 22.08.2019  ·  #13
Has anyone advised you that the food/wine on board is ripoff,?


Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender:
Location: Killinchy, Co. Down
Age: 53
Posts: 913
Registered: 02 / 2016
My Motorhome: Roller team 707
Base Vehicle: 2016 Ducato
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 22.08.2019  ·  #14
Quote by sprinter

Has anyone advised you that the food/wine on board is ripoff,?


That’s why we carry on a cool box with wine, beer, breakfast, toaster and kettle, plus the plug adapter. Please don’t tell anyone! Thankfully we don’t need the extra pillows this year on the new ship. (But soon find out if that’s true)


Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender:
Location: Co Wicklow
Age: 88
Posts: 3528
Registered: 01 / 2015
My Motorhome: Matilda.
Base Vehicle: Rust 02-Sprinter German engineered from recycled 1960 Fiats
Subject:

Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 22.08.2019  ·  #15
You and me both also on the way home.


Love's the Craic
Avatar
Gender:
Location: portaferry -county down
Age: 65
Posts: 173
Registered: 03 / 2013
My Motorhome: Mercedes-Benz hymer s550
Base Vehicle: Mercedes
Subject:

phone use on ferry

 · 
Posted: 06.10.2019  ·  #16
Quote by Europa

If you use your phone on the ferry you could be open to exorbitant charges as it is regarded as outside the EU. Have a good trip.


That is important advice.
We NOW make a point to turn off our phones before boarding. (the charges can be quite startling).
There is a warning note in the ferry booking conditions but it is easily overlooked !!
In may this year i forgot about my phone and it seemed that the the data charges were doubling with each connection.
The phone is set up for use in europe so i think that the problem is the charges for the use of the SHIPS wifi ??
There will be technically minded people on here who can explain this better -but it seems that i will have to just make sure that my phone is properly turned off.
i cannot see why the ferry companys (in this case Stena), allow this to happen- they cannot be that greedy???


Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender:
Location: kildare
Posts: 4337
Registered: 10 / 2011
My Motorhome: Dethleffs Advantage
Base Vehicle: Fiat 2.3
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 06.10.2019  ·  #17
You must connect to the ships WiFi, not your phone or text messages


Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender:
Location: Co. Down
Age: 65
Posts: 1184
Registered: 09 / 2011
My Motorhome: Hymer B598 PL
Base Vehicle: Fiat 130 hp multijet
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 06.10.2019  ·  #18
If you must keep your phone on for whatever reason, then put it on airplane mode. Calls made or received are linked to land by satellite, hence the high cost.
You can even get caught out by your phone deciding to do automatic updates and so not be aware that you are being billed at exorbitant rates.

Davy


Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender:
Age: 64
Posts: 282
Registered: 10 / 2016
My Motorhome: Rapido 655F
Base Vehicle: Fiat Ducato
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 06.10.2019  ·  #19
That's good advice Davy, switch off automatic updates when roaming, it's surprising the amount of data that can be used up . I had turned off auto updates on my phone, but I have set up a hotspot to share my mobile data connection with my wife via wifi, her phone was setup to only update over wifi , didn't take long to see my data allowance being used up. You really need to be careful , especially on ferries.


Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender:
Location: kildare
Posts: 4337
Registered: 10 / 2011
My Motorhome: Dethleffs Advantage
Base Vehicle: Fiat 2.3
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 06.10.2019  ·  #20
Quote by Davy

If you must keep your phone on for whatever reason, then put it on airplane mode.

Davy


Airplane mode would stop your WiFi


Craic Lifer
Avatar
Gender:
Location: Co Galway
Age: 98
Posts: 4605
Registered: 04 / 2013
My Motorhome: Adria 670DK
Base Vehicle:
Subject:

Re: Breathalyzer test kit

 · 
Posted: 06.10.2019  ·  #21
Quote by eirebus

Airplane mode would stop your WiFi


You just turn on WiFi after turning on airplane mode 👍🏻


Selected quotes for multi-quoting:   0

Registered users in this topic

Currently no registered users in this section

The statistic shows who was online during the last 5 minutes. Updated every 90 seconds.