crank up sat dish

the irish rover
Love's the Craic
Subject:

crank up sat dish

· 
Posted: 03.12.2017  ·  #1
hi folks. thinking of purchasing in the new year. i have no experience of using a dish at all. any help regarding -make size-model-would be appreciated. a dish that would get irish and uk channels in spain would be a priority. thank,s folks.ps. crank up system would be my option.

Robbie
Starline S680
My Motorhome: Hymer S680
Base Vehicle: Mercedes
Subject:

Re: crank up sat dish

· 
Posted: 03.12.2017  ·  #2
crank up as far as I know in Spain you have NO chance .

Even an Oyster 85 auto seek will only work down a bit on the BBC ITV astra 2 channels. If you have sky and box in van as it is on a slightly stronger signal you get it a bit further down but the lobes can be hit and miss.
This is just my experience and I may be wrong. I know for sure once I hit Valencia I got nout. I get sky news but thats on Astra1 and thats it.
France is no bother on the Oyster 85 system

the irish rover
Love's the Craic
Subject:

· 
Posted: 03.12.2017  ·  #3
interesting. what do you suggest i get to be able to recieve a signal. i have not any idea of ..oyster/astra/lobes /etc. all help appreciated.

Robbie
Starline S680
Subject:

· 
Posted: 03.12.2017  ·  #4
Some of the guys will know better than I but basically astra 2 moved it orbit more north a year or so back meaning people in spain with houses then needed a 1.5m dish. So when you think of it that way in a van we have no chance.

this is not camper related but you will get a feeling for it given that a camper dish can be 40 to 85 cm.

http://www.a516digital.com/201…-dish.html

the irish rover
Love's the Craic
Subject:

· 
Posted: 03.12.2017  ·  #5
thanks robbie,for that info. maybe some of the folks in spain touring at the moment ,might have a bit of info too. id be interested to know if they have reception or not. thanks again robbie. il wait and see if anyone has more info for me.

Robbie
Starline S680
Subject:

·